What Happens to Facebook Live Videos After Completion?
For those familiar with Facebook Live this may seem like a very simple and irrelevant question. For those out in the field discussing Facebook Live with potential new Facebook Live users, this is most commonly asked question. So, for that reason we are publishing a simple article to describe what exactly happens when a Facebook Live video is complete!
A Facebook Live video upon completion will be posted as a permanent on-deman video. If you are publishing a live video from a desktop or a third party app (i.e. BeLive, Smiletime, etc.), the video is automatically saved. If you are publishing a live video from a phone or a tablet, you have to option to DELETE or POST the video permanently.
Facebook Live on a Computer
When a Facebook Live video from desktop (computer) is complete, the video will automatically be converted to a permanent on-demand video. The video will be saved to the timeline. This is the case whether it’s a video from a personal profile page or a business page.
If you wish to delete the live video, simply delete the video (or hide from timeline) like you would delete any other type of post.
Please note the status of a video while being broadcast is “is live” and once the live video is complete the status will change to “was live”.
Facebook Live on a Phone
When a Facebook Live video from a phone or table is complete, you will have an additional option that is not available when on your computer. You may choose to Delete or Post the video, if you select Post the video will be saved just like on desktop, if you choose Delete the video will not be published. The video will be saved to the timeline. This is the case whether it’s a video from a personal profile page or a business page.
Where is a Facebook Live Video Saved?
Another question that is frequently asked by people not familiar with Facebook Live is;
Where is the video saved?
Once again, it may seem like an obvious question/answer for those familiar with Facebook Live but, once again, those not familiar with Facebook Live do frequently ask this. After completion, the live video by default is posted to your personal profile page or business page timeline. The video is also permanently available in your video library.
Saving and Searching Facebook Live Videos, The Takeaway
Producing Facebook Live videos becomes 2nd nature for people that frequently produce videos but the people that are new to the live video game, there are many things the pros take for granted. The advantage of Facebook Live videos being saved to timelines and Video Libraries is that they are permanently available, the disadvantagea are; 1) you may not edit a live video in place and 2) the quality of alive video may be less than a traditional on-demand video with respect to resolution (i.e. 360p vs. 720p). Be on the lookout for additional Facebook Live tutorials, training and information from 3V Business Solutions!